January 31st: Day 19 – Breakfast

I have been receiving a lot of requests for pictures and recipes so I thought I would write about different items you could eat for breakfast, as a vegan – and include pictures and recipes of course. You may think that without milk, eggs, cheese and meat, there are not a lot of breakfast options. I must admit I struggled with breakfast my first week of being vegan as well and caught myself reaching for an energy bar most mornings. Now that I have discovered more and experimented, these are the options I have come up with:

–       scrambled tofu and tempeh bacon (already posted picture and recipe)

–       steel cut oats

–       breakfast quinoa

–       smoothies

–       vegan waffles

–       vegan drop biscuits

–       B12-fortified cereal (i.e. raisin bran), non-dairy milk and cut up banana

–       breakfast polenta

–       grapefruit and nut butter on bread

–       breakfast burrito

–       And of course so many options you can get from your ordinary breakfast restaurant: homefries, tomatoes, baked beans, fruit, bagels, english muffins … shall I go on?

Below I have added pictures and recipes of my steel cut oats (I started buying the blue menu brand a long time ago), waffles (so easy to make but waffle maker is hard to clean. I also like the no sugar maple syrup who, my sister – the Dietitian, recommended), smoothies (have fun with your smoothies, try something new everyday. Also for a more affordable version, slice your fruit in small chunks and freeze, this way when you make your smoothie you just toss it in the mixer) and drop biscuits (total of 20 minutes to make – have lots of time to clean up or get ready for work while they are baking). Enjoy!

Drop Biscuit Recipe: http://www.grouprecipes.com/40106/vegan-biscuits.html

Vegan Waffles Recipe: http://www.vegweb.com/recipes/easy-basic-waffles-morning

Breakfast Burritos: http://www.cheekykitchen.com/2012/08/10-minute-vegan-breakfast-burritos.html

Smoothie Recipes: http://www.yummly.com/recipes/vegan-breakfast-smoothie

Image

Leave a Reply

