January 22nd: DAY 10 – Appreciation

The importance of appreciating everything we receive, whether it is gifts, friends, laughter or food, is beyond the stars. To show appreciation is an aspect of your life you can show by giving gifts, cards, saying grace or saying thank you. I make it a priority in my life to do these things because this is something that my mother taught me, something I value as important and something I wish to teach those around me and in my future, my children.

When discussing food, even our actions can show appreciation especially by eating locally as often as possible. These actions show that we are grateful for our food producers in our community and the healthy food they make and by saying thank you, we want to support them. When further discussing ‘traveling’, in yesterdays post, it can unfortunately be too easy to forget to pause and be thankful for everything around you, including food. I try to make an extra effort to say cheers, grace, even a thank you in every meal I eat. Because I truly am so grateful for all of the effort and beauty that has gone into allowing me to eat such nutritious meals. I wanted to share with you my thank you that I recite to myself before I eat (see below). I hope that you too can find appreciation in things around you and show gratitude to the things or persons that brought it to you, in whatever shape or form that may come in. 

“With what I am about to receive, may I be ever mindful of;

–       the pure, rich and nutritious qualities of this food

–       the hard work and diligence that went into this food

–       the virtue and beauty in the people who I am sharing this food

–       and, the needs of others for this food.

Thank you.”

6 thoughts on “January 22nd: DAY 10 – Appreciation

  1. My partner and I absolutely love your blog
    and find almost all of your post’s to be what precisely I’m
    looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content to suit your
    needs? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome site!

Leave a Reply

